Obsessed

You set my soul on fire, yet refuse to quench it.
You I desire and thirst for,
still my love as dry as a desert floor,
you will not wet it.

I hunger for you, so why will you not feed me?
I want you so bad, so why do you not need me?
Am I that less than ordinary, that simple or just a nobody?!

I wake every morning and say a prayer for me and you,
On my heart and body parts I have your name tattooed.

I stay by my window each day to see you pass by
…Such sweet salve for my wanting eyes
I wait impatiently for the scent of you,
mmm!….fresh morning due.
I create symphonies that remind me of you;
In my head, I play movies that star only we two.

DAMN IT BOY! I’M TRYING HERE CAN’T YOU SEE?!
I’M DOING ALL I CAN TO LET YOU KNOW HOW MUCH
YOU MEAN TO ME!
HAVE YOU NOT BEEN READING MY NOTES OF LOVE AND POETRY?!
You KNOW I want you, NOW STOP BEING SUCH A TEASE!
I CAN’T BE THAT INSIGNIFICANT!
ARE YOU TOO BLIND TO SEE THIS GORGEOUS WOMAN STANDING HERE,
ARMS OPEN WIDE SO LOVINGLY?!

Okay! Okay!
I see you’re not ready for this much pressure
so I’m “backing off” as you call it, for good measure.
I’ll resign to the background of your life
and I’ll let you breathe
to avoid you bringing in the authorities.
I’ll dream of you and I’ll want you from a distance,
that will be my pleasure for the very instant.
And though you may be cautious ’cause I’m persistent,
…worry not.
I am not obsessed…Just a little turned on by your resistance.

ยฉ2011 Festivalking

26 comments on “Obsessed

  1. The human heart and mental condition rarely stand exclusive in most matters.
    It is plain, but not obvious. It is honest and yet is not (who really is honest with themselves all the way in any matter?).
    It is human. Relatable.
    I still play the block-head who doesn’t notice.

  2. hahaha…fun…oy love and lust will get us into some intersting places…good though you know how to read them as well and when to back down so you dont get a night in jail…lol…i think you might be obsessed just a little bit…smiles.

  3. I like how the heart is poured out.. first softly then urgently… then okay, okay… I could hear the other side of the conversation then. I thought the last line brought relief… there can be enjoyment in the dance…

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

