Red

I’m not sure it makes sense anymore, how could it come to this?…. Maybe I should have seen it from the get go but all I saw was “Red”…

I fell in love with beauty I had never known. Vibrant, Sexy, Intelligent, Creative… A perfect gift of Cupid’s to me. She would be my gem and fortune, and she was. We gave into each other absolutely;Β  the perfect couple… Everything was “Red”, but time is a wicked thing…. With it that vibrant color begins to wear and a faded texture I see.

Cupid’s gift gradually morphs into a fiendish curse. Aggression and anger is its gift to us. She, still my rare beauty, I look at her and the devil wears Prada comes to mind. My “Red” beautiful, powerful and yet vain flower.

Quarrels over the slightest matters ensue… Initially welcome, as passionate acts of reconciliation fuel “bittersweet” to a fiery shade! … In the time of “tainted Red”, Hot, Sexy, and Angry is how I desire her.

Soon “Red” becomes a warning; a stop sign which we both refuse to heed… The situation bears an ugly turning…

My beauty, I know she loves me yet here we are; a kitchen knife run through me…and as I lay here in my pool of blood; clutched in her trembling embrace, at the sight of the tears from my beauty’s face born from regret of her mindless mistake… I see “Red”

Β©2012 Festivalking

34 comments on “Red

  1. A proper description of a pure passionate burn at heart, borne of love, with a depiction of its flaws n yet a blind sight turned to them

  2. Cupid’s gift gradually morphs into a fiendish curse. Aggression and anger is its gift to us. She, still my rear beauty, I look at her and the devil wears Prada comes to mind. My “Red” beautiful, powerful and yet vain flower.

    “The transition here is very very real. The experience tends to question one’s personal concept of that smooth sweet speechless feeling…”

  3. Deconstruction of a “Love” Story. What a difference a day makes. From affection to disdain from Joy to Pain.So are the days of a disaster bound relationship. Nice one Kingy.

  4. If Red makes a woman wanna stab you I just might go crip walking..

    Very beautifully written and has plenty of suggestive metaphors. Awesome and Good Read.

    – Inked Pen

    • lolololol!

      Red is love, anger, lust, sexy and more my friend πŸ˜€ …its up to us to apply it properly and in the case of love always try to keep it vibrant πŸ˜‰

      Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

  5. Well, i had to laugh at Scott’s comment (sexy and emotionally horrifying). That is a tightrope walk you pull off so well with the feeling that it’s fated. I love that your perception of this poem has shifted. I think that it speaks highly of your courage and imagination that you wrote and shared it despite your confusion/hesitation. Trusting that there was something to you impulse to create it. Prose poetry is the perfect outlet for it, something about the implied progression creates additional tension. Great diction and compelling images drew me along (but with my eyes slightly covered by my hand :)). Wonderful!

    • lol!
      I’m so glad you thought so about it πŸ˜€ … I’m not sure but I think I had just finished watching basic instinct before writing it πŸ˜€ … just kidding πŸ˜‰

      Cheers!

  6. red is def an evocative color that goes both ways but then again so can most of our relationships as well….always shifting…ha on watching basic instict as well…been a while since i saw that….err…stay away from the ice picks….smiles.

  7. Wow, what a wonderful use of red to explore relationship. So full of drama! (And I love that perfect, bright mouth.)

    • We can thank Google for the picture πŸ˜‰ … I just thought the lips were a perfect symbol of the female character in this piece … sexy and yet dangerous πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by πŸ˜‰

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

