My Resolutions

Its the month of the crab people! πŸ™‚ (OK, the other month of the crab) and JUST A FEW WEEKS TO MY BIRTHDAY!!! No, this post does not contain my wish list ….that will come later πŸ˜‰ (lol!)

This may sound funny, but I have always seen my birthday as the real moment for ushering in the new year. I take my time to make new resolutions weeks before “D-day” and spend the next year working on my new cause. I turned the big “THREE- O” last year and weeks before my birthday, no, this time it was months before my birthday! I began panicking about entering the 3rd decade of my life without the “would be” fulfillment of most women my age (you know- A home, marriage, kids and perhaps a dog or maybe even a cat). I was fortunate enough to have the encouragement of friends older than myself, either of a similar circumstance or lucky enough to be living the fairytale life.

I specifically remember the advice of a girlfriend of mine. Chidinma, then in the 2nd year of her 30’s, 4 years married and a mom of 2, told told me with eyes rolling

“marriage and all that comes with it is …yes, wonderful! But if you don’t have it at this time, don’t sweat it, it will come at the right moment and hopefully you will have what it takes (i.e. the maturity and patience)to seeΒ  yours through. No panic, go throw yourself for the wrong man hand o! This is the time to love yourself and love life, and instead of becoming desperate for what you don’t have, look to what you do have and appreciate it ALL.”

I took that piece of advice and have held on to it till this very day! 30 has finally come and as its about flying out the window, I can proudly say that I have spent this year being more appreciative of my every breathΒ  of life and the people I share it with. So on to the next one! πŸ™‚

This coming year its all about:

  • Eating Healthy –Β  I seem to have over indulged myself for most of last year ( must’veΒ  gone a bit over board with the whole love myself move :D). I believe I gained about 10 pounds ’cause I’m almost a dress size bigger now 😐 . So no more sweet stuff for me! No more junk! no more cakes! …Getting very sad as I write all this :(, but its called sacrifice πŸ˜‰ and luckily for me not only is Chidinma a wonderful counselor, she’s also coaching me through this new life style of mine … GO CHIDINMA!!!! πŸ™‚
  • Joining a Cause – I believe that is very necessary for everyone to join a selfless cause at some point in their life and for me its going down in mid- 2012! Well I’m still looking for one though, so if you have any ideas or links please hook me up pronto!!!Β  THANKS! πŸ˜‰
  • Rekindle my passion for Pets (Dogs to be more exact) -There was a time I could tell youΒ  a lot about dog breeding and care; I could walk into most houses where there were dogs unafraid, and when all my passwords had something to do with canines or bore the name of my pets. I still love dogs and have 2 beautiful Alsatians back in my home town, but its time to step it up a bit. I intent becoming more informed about these wonderful creatures (the different breed, their temperaments, and how best to care for them). No, I’m not looking at becoming another “Dog Whisperer“, but I do plan on taking care of a number of them like I did as a kid someday.
  • Keep Loving ME and Stay Positive about the Future – I believe that sums it up. Still single, no kids and yet to land my dream job but hey, THIS IS LIFE and I am and will continue living it for all its worth :). Sure, sometimes I ache for the next chapter whatever it maybe, but I will be sure to keep reminding myself that it is best to be thankful for “the here and now” and be hopeful for the future.

I know there is so much more I intend doing this new year but I can’t think of them all right now, so I’ll be sure to fill you in on my progress come next year God willing.Β  πŸ˜‰

Cheers! πŸ™‚

P.S- Wish list coming soon πŸ˜‰

πŸ˜€ HEHEHE!!!!

8 comments on “My Resolutions

  1. Hi FK, excellent tips on adjustment after decade number 3. And yes! Up chidinma! Seen many babes dash in to escape that ‘turn’ without achieving that lot and 2yrs on….well, another story! Refreshing piece and kudos again FK!

  2. lets really cross our fingers for you, with the hope that you stay off sweet stuff. love the last picture and goooooooo Chidinma!, 3 0, shook me like that , but now, I got bigger in the latter days and grow stronger and more focused with better plans. no frets dearie, dont rush, take your time and besides Chidinma was right about the maturity part, to tackle the marriage, that was spot on, u dont wnat to kow what happens earlier, loll

  3. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

