Blogging, Broadcasting and Christ

When I first started my blogs I never realized just how many people would get to read my posts, neither did I consider the sort of people that would come across my messages. Today however, was an eye opener to that reality.

People from all facets of life will read your stuff and if you make enough sense the usual case is that they get impacted with some form of entertainment, encouragement or inspiration. They will leave comments telling you how wonderful your post was or how touched they were by your message or even use one of your posts as a reference. Its a good feeling, the attention, but what happens when you start getting it from a crowd you never expected?

One of my latest posts got a pingback from a blog site today. On getting the notification I clicked on the link only to realize that I had stepped into a world absolutely different from mine. Its okay when you get on your blog and see that your blog post was liked by “your kind of people” or that they were touched by your ideas and opinion, but what do you do when your message is applauded by someone you have always considered different from you? I can’t go into detail as to what makes this person different, but my guess is that you have a few ideas relating to what I’m going on about.

Anyway, I saw the blog and noticed that my article had been made reference to in one of the blog posts. My first reaction was to trash the comment, but then something in my head or maybe my heart stopped me.  This all happened while I was at the office so I really didn’t have time to fully assess the situation. After quick deliberation I finally decided to spam it for a time, at least until I was sure about my convictions. Meanwhile, I had been receiving this broadcast from friends on my blackberry network all day saying:

Hello, I am Jesus Christ,u hardly have time for me. I love You and always bless you.I am always with You. Today I want this message across the world before midnight, please do not cut it and I’ll help you with something that you are in need of.

I’m sorry,  I love Christ and all and I RRRREALLY do, but why some people try to make him look like some sort of sales person or item is beyond me! I feel broadcasts like this one just belittles the image of my Lord and Saviour.

So what does this have to do with my initial story? A lot!

Me not rebroadcasting that message had got me feeling a little uneasy from the moment I started receiving it. I felt irritated and yet just because the message bore the name Jesus Christ in it, I was filled with guilt for not wanting to follow the B.B re-broadcasting horde. “Don’t I love Jesus enough?” I thought to myself. Then the blog issue hit! Whether or not I would accept this blogger’s comment on my page would be a test of my faith.

The sense of guilt seemed only to increase when I decided I wouldn’t delete the comment. “O so you’d rather have funny people on your blog, but rebroadcasting a message about Jesus is an issue huh?”. I wondered how Jesus saw me at that time.

At home I took my time to read this persons blog, and though their opinion and way of life is FAR DIFFERENT from mine, I could see how my message might have helped through certain feelings and emotion. It was then I realized, “your kind of people” or not, its all about making a positive contribution to a “LIFE”. Loving your neighbor as yourself and bringing peace and joy to others, isn’t that what being christian is all about?

I decided to reach out to this person and apologize for my initial reaction to their comment because in the end its all about practicing what you preach… I preach Love and acceptance, judging not so that I too will not be judged.

My final take. You can broadcast or rebroadcast messages about Christ a million and one times believing that this is your contribution to the christian race , but if your message only tends to scare, irritate or even put people on a spiritual guilt trip then maybe you need to re-think your strategy on how to draw lost sheep to The Father and Son. Its not about selling him as an idea but becoming more like him in spirit and person, that others may see and draw near.

Let your actions, thoughts and behavior speak louder than your broadcasts…

Cheers!

11 comments on “Blogging, Broadcasting and Christ

  1. You hit a home run with this post, girl! I absolutely believe Jesus needs no sales pitch- which is different from evangelism by the way. Let your fruits do the talking. I’d say to the person/people: “what kinds of fruits follow you?” Love it 🙂

  2. Beautifully put, beautiful one! Hugs for all that you have gone through. Who knew blogging could be this tough at times? You keep following Jesus and listening to Him! Guilt trips just don’t share Jesus. Cheering you as you draw the line and didn’t rebroadcast that ! love and prayers!

  3. Pingback: More than an Messenger « Cruciform

  4. That’s exactly the same reason I don’t re-broadcast some religious subjects. Your thoughts on the subject are wonderful. Well done festivalking

  5. Well said and such a sensitive post. This is the deviousness in these kind of things that they try to make us feel guilty or afraid. When I still was a Christian one of my favourite verses in the bible was John 4/14: “Perfect love casts out fear”. This for me is the true gospel and everything else the work of the enemy.

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

