As sleep beckons

Eyes closing as I write
sleep, it is I strive to fight
 Battling to keep the nights’ watch
yet embraced by the silent hush

Betrayed by yawns,
now Hypnos’ pawn
A tired head tilts
and slowly I drift,

Silken slumber bids me fall
the silence of the night, its seductive call
The fight to stay awake, in vain
as heavy eyes at last betray

9 comments on “As sleep beckons

  1. Pingback: As sleep beckons « denniscoble

  2. Beautiful poem! 🙂 I wish I was able to sleep a lot more than I am able to, to benefit from the healing effects of restorative sleep . Unfortunately, I have become an insomniac! RSD makes it extremely difficult for my system to quiet in order to sleep. Sweet dreams my friend! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

