An Englyn Milwr Banter (dVerse)

Staring into the nothingness before
Inspiration flat, no thoughts of lore
ALAS! EUREKA! a spark of grandeur!

and then I write:

To give ones love and yet be kept in thirst
Many are the souls blessed with such a curse
Yet to live and not have loved is much worse

Today on dVerse (http://dversepoets.com/2012/10/11/formforall-englyn/) we are taking a look at the Englyn (plural Englynion). This is an ancient form of Celtic poetry.

Traditionally the Englyn was used to praise or mock someone well-known. Because of their brevity, they can distil ideas or emotion in a concise verse.

There are eight different forms of Englyn. I have chosen the Englyn milwr

Englyn milwr

This is the soldier’s Englyn, which consists of three seven syllable lines, all of which rhyme.

_ _ _ _ _ _a
_ _ _ _ _ _a
_ _ _ _ _ _a

Thanks Sue Judd! I hope my poem did some justice to today’s topic πŸ™‚

30 comments on “An Englyn Milwr Banter (dVerse)

  1. really cool englyn….lots of truth…first to give ones love and yet remain thirsty…sad, it is a curse….but i def beleve it better to love and lose than never to love at all….even if it is a song…ha…

    glad you played, its a fun form…

  2. I think it was a noble first go at these forms. I think we all feel a bit wobbly – it is in fact a foreign language form, with completely different rhythms and altogether different words…extremely consonant heavy, thus the emphases in all are on their consonantal play. I think it’s brave to try more than one and you managed two delightfully!

  3. Excellent. I enjoyed both of yours. That second one expresses a strong truth really. I am reminded of “Better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.”

  4. Geez, you’re a professional poet with all the formalities πŸ™‚
    Great poem Upe and what I also like is that you educated me in this post about something I knew nothing of before. Have a great weekend!

  5. Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant! I have read nearly 100 of these three line pieces in the last couple of days and yours shines brighter than all others combined! Skillful, meaningful, good!

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

