Ex..aaam Fever! (dVerse)

At the thought of an Examination my bowel gives way
The mention conjuring huge beads of sweat.
Recollection of question filled sheets with few hours to complete
Panic besets me and suddenly I need to take a sh…

Is it me or is the classroom spinning  fast?
Someone PLEASE shut the windows!
Chills and Hot flashes descend my confused body
The room seems to grow smaller with each minute so I eject

Tick-Tock! Tick-Tock! Time moving fast
Question filled sheet still lay unanswered
Outside, my body with a mind of its own renders mine helpless
Fresh air, water on face and a moment with “John” does the trick!

Back and ready to resume the intellectual battle
Not much time left but I give it my best
A race against time before the “pens up!”
…The situation for most of my youth

Deliverance came in grasping:

Life is one BIG TEST!
Failure is not death,
Mistakes occur for us to learn,
and it is with confidence most battles are won

Now a case of mind over matter
I have bowel movements only test periods after
To my fear of failure I have waved goodbye
Though the mention of an Ex….aaaam will still stir my  butterfly 😉

Tonight on dVerse (http://dversepoets.com/2012/10/13/poetics-poeticaphobia/) the challenge is to write a poem about a phobia or something that scares you. I have written about a real phobia of mine, which I battled for most of my youth. Today however, I am glad to tell you that I have 90% of this fear under control… Progress, no! 😉
Thanks Stuart for such a wonderful night at the bar! 🙂

 

30 comments on “Ex..aaam Fever! (dVerse)

  1. i agree with your wisdom that mistakes occur and it is all part of the learning…i do still have nightmares occassionally thta i show up to class and its the exam and i have never been to the class before…lol….um, on the bowel movements…uh, nevermind…lol…

  2. oh i’m with you on this one!…exams, tests, COMPLETELY get you!…but you are right…does it link to a fear of failure? probably…and if you fail your exams? what is the worst that an happen (other than a bowel movement!)…NOTHING…nothing bad will happen..but this s a perfect poetic example of how iratonal our minds can be at times….fantastic take on the prompt- and im glad for you (and your bowels) that you have this 90% under control!

  3. You make this very real. One of my friends years ago had a similar problem with throwing up–she was brilliant, too–she could have answered anything on the test easily, but she would just tense up with terror. It’s very hard on kids now, where many tests are time limited–but maybe knowing you only have X minutes might help? Congratulations on your victory.

  4. Oh gosh yes those dreaded exams… and wouldn’t you know I put myself back in there again…not sure why like I need the stress and the fear… I can well understand how you feel… really loved your voice in this!

  5. Ah, good description of your test phobia. I wonder how you got yourself to internalize the perfectly sensible:
    ‘Life is one BIG TEST!
    Failure is not death,
    Mistakes occur for us to learn,
    and it is with confidence most battles are won’
    It’s one thing to know that intellectually, and another to really own it. That’s excellent that you were able to overcome your fear.

    • Thanks! 🙂

      I am glad as well. I only need to be ready for the test and then I’m good and even where I’m not and have to do it all the same…. Whats the worst thing that can happen? I only get to try it again 🙂

      Cheers!

  6. ” Life is one BIG TEST!
    Failure is not death,
    Mistakes occur for us to learn,
    and it is with confidence most battles are won”
    VERY insightful! better to have tried and failed than not to have tried at all.
    great take on the prompt!

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

