Poignant

I see nothing
speak nothing
hear nothing
My monkeys 3, in a state of Nirvana

Dwelling in nothingness,
Paralyzed by emptiness
Too tired to be angry
Could one be more sad?

It feels painful just to breathe
yet I hold it in till I am pale
Probably for the torture
Probably to prove I still exist.

I war against image and color
closing my eyes to lose sight
wanting them all to disappear atleast for a moment
those daily icons of life

I want nothing!
not to breath!
not to speak!
Not to see!

I push away all that is beautiful
From sight,
to sound,
to word

Turning off my radio,
Dismissing friends,
I become silence itself,

I want nothing
… Not even to feel.

Even a happy life cannot be without a measure of darkness, and the word happy would lose its meaning if it were not balanced by sadness. It is far better to take things as they come along with patience and equanimity.- Carl Jung

ItsΒ dverse Open LinkΒ night so come on over and show us what you’ve got! πŸ˜‰Β 

48 comments on “Poignant

    • lol!

      Snap out of it coz she wasn’t feeling that way a while back for good reasons
      πŸ™‚

      Much better now though πŸ˜‰

  1. I’m sure you’re feeling much better now. Feelings are sensations that our senses are sensitive to. Beyond the realm of senses is perfection. I wonder whether happiness or sadness is the ideal feeling, but the ideal may just be nothing. We never can tell what lies beyond our comprehension, but we can ponder around them to keep our minds entertained. Very emotional piece you put up here! I won’t want to mingle with poignancy though. Cheer up!

  2. You know, I have felt that way sometime. It does help to write the feelings out honestly, as you have. It takes a strong person to share words of this depth. That says something for you!

  3. This is so true. How can we ever know what happiness is, unless we also know sadness too. Sometimes we do need our time completely alone, just to …be and nothing more. So hard to do.
    Lovely poem.

  4. So bleak, but I can feel the catharsis within the poem. The silence bit really rings true for me – I have had many days where just a little peace & quiet would fix everything. I really like the way you worded this: “My monkeys 3, in a state of Nirvana”.

  5. I was moved by your poem and its message. I thank Scott for directing me to your site as you are a beautiful talent…with a a special gift that touches the mind, heart, and soul! Your poem stimulates my mind, though sad, it is so very real, and that is what life always is, so very real!

    • Thank you so very much for your comment … I am glad you feel that way about my work.

      The poem “poignant” was written as a sort of release. Most of my writing however comes from… imagination, of which I thank God (Wouldn’t want to be an alien abductee for instance) πŸ™‚

      Thank you once again and please, don’t be a stranger.

      Cheers and a very blessed weekend to you! πŸ™‚

  6. This is beautiful. To many it may come off as sad and depressing but being an artists we know these feelings all too well and have come to accept them just as we accept the happiness! Love!

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

