Poetry in disguise…

Love Song For A Vampire by Annie Lennox– (Lyrics)

Come into these arms again
and lay your body down
The rhythm of this trembling heart
is beating like a drum
It beats for you, it bleeds for you
it knows not how it sounds
For it is the drum of drums
it is the song of songs

Once I had the rarest rose
that ever deemed to bloom
Cruel winter chilled the bud
and stole my flower too soon
Oh loneliness, Oh hopelessness
to search the ends of time
For there is in all the world
no greater love than mine.

Love o love o …. still falls the rain
Love o love o …. still falls the night
Love o love o …. damned forever

Let me be the only one
to keep you from the cold
Now the floor of heaven is laid
the stars are bright as gold
They shine for you, they shine for you
they burn for all to see
…Come into these arms again
and set this spirit free

I turned on the media player of my computer this morning and this was the first song to greet me. Just in case you didn’t know, its the theme song to Francis Ford Coppola’s 1992 film adaptation “Dracula”.
Call me weird but its still one of my best songs EVER! Take a moment to read through the lyrics of the song and you’ll soon realize,  its not just  music… its poetry.
Enjoy your day! 🙂

Author: festivalking

... A mother; Career focused ... and still growing :)

13 thoughts on “Poetry in disguise…”

  1. I definitely agree it is more than just a song! Annie Lenox…couldn’ t think of a better voice for it. And yes – I might have said the same if it was sang and imprinted in mind by somebody else but…for me she is a very big part making this love song in fabulous art.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.