Dawn

Holding my hand she softly
leads me to the morning
Such a tease, from behind
my curtains she peeps and
distracts me from my sleep.
Hypnos flees at her whisper,
My sprawled body yet again
unchained..

Waking me from temporary death
She bids me live with song
from birds near by and the
growing cacophony from my
window, outside- testifying
to possibilities of what
the day may bring.

A times I wish she leave me be
Just allow my sprawled body
Yet she is ever present company
Her warmth
Her whisper
Daily piercing through my nights
She births new days
She ushers in the light.

Some day I hope to capture
her form through mechanical eyes
but only through words will I depict
her beauty until pennies fill my pocket

https://i2.wp.com/www.naturalnavigator.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/Venus-rising-at-dawn.jpg

Googled

17 comments on “Dawn

  1. smiles…this is lovely….i like the intimacy….love the bird songs and nature touch there…and power, She births new days
    She ushers in the light…nice…may your pockets over flow with pennies…smiles.

  2. Hi Festival King,

    I have nominated you for Very Inspiring Blogger Award. All you need to do is..
    Very Inspiring Blogger Award Rules

    1.Display the award logo on your blog.
    2.Link back to the person who nominated you.
    3.State 7 things about yourself.
    4.Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.
    5.Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements

    Enjoy! xx

  3. Very mysterious and intriguing – and softly spoken. The sounds out of the window are so cultural! I think it was a really nice touch to include that, I remember the sounds of South America when I was there, long ago, and how they were so exotic. Well, they were to me, maybe not to those who live there.
    Lovely poem.

  4. HI JUST SITTING HERE THIS RAINLY MORNDAY…MY MORNDAY HI…..DOT..BLESSING…………………………………………..Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God;”
    Philippians 4:6

    Debora could be very stressed: she’s a wife, mother, occupational therapist, writing instructor, piano teacher, speaker, author and (deep intake of breath) tennis enthusiast.

    How does Debora handle a stress-filled life like that?

    Well, she doesn’t!!! She gives it all to God!

    Friend, the Bible says not to worry or be anxious, but to pray…

    Tell God about your needs and thank Him.

    And God’s peace will guard your heart and mind as you live in Christ.

    Debora’s acronym will help you remember:

    It’s p-e-a-c-e… placing each aggravation at Christ’s feet… expectantly!

    Yes, real peace is yours when you intentionally give it to god in prayer.

    Give each annoyance, dilemma, and burden to God, one by one, and minute by minute.

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

