Child Soldier

Arms weigh upon an innocent chest
  Hands no bigger than my vexing fist
  I vex for  wasted innocence
  Children  of  War, to
  violence  Tabula rasa exposed
  Morbid scenes causing mental overload
Monster turned by circumstance
  Not far long a living seed
  Raped prematurely of compassion,
  No feeling- Not for breasts from which weaned
  less for tears and mercy cries of a stranger
Cold eyes, such beautiful eyes
  turned cold
  Cold heart, what promise once held
  now frozen
  Cold soul...
  Who will drag them in from the cold?
  Who will LOVE and redeem them?
Yet with opened eyes and souls restored
  The weights upon them - heavier than the gun!
  Once violent hearts now grasping "Truth"
  of their wasted innocence
  and futile youth
  Puppets for political gain
  Urchin's past- A tale of pain
  Scarred forever with unbearable shame
 Damned be the Elders, the ones to blame.

 “But if you cause one of these little ones who trusts in me to fall into sin, it would be better for you to be thrown into the sea with a large millstone hung around your neck.”-Mark 9:42

22 comments on “Child Soldier

    • Only read about them, but what hurts the most is when I come across pictures such as these! How do People that lead them into this life even live with this sort of evil on their conscience? 😦

  1. This is just heart breaking, and as poetry it talks about things that poetry should talk about. I’m glad I read it, but it lies heavy on my heart. There are some wonderful alliterations in the first stanza that hammers in the message.

    • Thank you Bjorn… A friend of mine had me ponder on the topic and what I came was totally heart breaking to me so I wrote about it. What can I say, we live in strange and evil times!

  2. Mangled corpses, scattered flesh
    Putrid stench of death rents d air
    Sweaty palms, a resolve quickened by fear
    Marching on playgrounds scarred afresh

    One day the madness will end.

  3. This is really sad.

    I can’t believe that kids are being manipulated by army soldiers and being given guns for these kids to use. what is wrong with our system?

    I miss reading your work. I’m back! and Starting Mondays, Wednesdays, & Fridays, I shall be posting up new blog poems. 🙂

    So tomorrow will be the beginning of a new post. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Child Soldier | The Naughty Boy's Blog

Thanks for stopping by!!! Feel free to tell me how you feel about this piece :)

